The Sports Dump 1-on-1 All-Time Basketball Challenge Elite 8: #7 Shaquille O’Neal vs. #14 David Robinson Results

images#7 Shaquille O’Neal defeats #14 David Robinson 16-14

In Shaq’s prime he was unstoppable in the low post.  His unmatched size and strength paired with his quickness gave him an advantage over anyone he faced.  In his prime, David Robinson was known for his explosiveness and strength around the basket as well.  If Robinson can use his ball skills to keep this matchup outside of 12 feet, he will have the advantage.  I just don’t think that he can keep this from turning into an inside power fest.  Shaq in his prime was just as quick as The Admiral, but with much more power.  Shaq Wins 15-12

@DLAGPrez Having a really tough time choosing between Shaq and David Robinson for today’s matchup so I plan on picking the opposite of @Jumbohungry.

Shaq.  Size and ability to post up will wear Robinson out.  He won’t have to shoot from further than 4 feet.

My first gut feeling tells me Shaq would win this matchup because of his power game.  If I take time and try to find ways for Robinson to win, I can come up with a few.  If Robinson gets shots off, he has a chance or if he can get Shaq out of the paint.  I’m going with my gut and picking Shaq in a close one.

Hard to believe Shaq weighs 90 more lbs than Robinson, as The Admiral was ripped in his prime.
Robinson has more range and prob more handles than does Shaq, but I don’t see him being able to keep the big fella out of the paint consistently. I take Shaq in a close one, 15-13.

Just like i said with Wilt, at some point you can’t just back guys down and dunk on them 15 times for the win. Don’t get me wrong, Robinson is still gonna get posterized by the big fella, but his quickness on offense and his range (better than the 2 stars in the breakdown above in my opinion) will keep him in it.  This one is a toss-up, but I have to give the edge to Shaq 15-13. I had to dig deep to find a reason, but Shaqz’s rap gave me the knowledge I needed.  Still the best athlete song of all time…

Put your 2 cents in

