2013 College Football Primer Week 4

I went 5-3 last week and that brings my record after 3 weeks to an “In The Black” 16-12.  This week doesn’t have a lot a high-profile games, but I think we are in for a good week.  Let’s get to it.

THURSDAY

#3 Clemson -14.5 at NC State 7:30pm ESPN (Clemson 26 NC State 14)

hot-clemson-tigers-cheerleader-570x713

I’m going to take the recent “Harvest Moon” as a sign to go with Farmer U to cover tonight.  Clemson is by far the better team and has BCS Title dreams, but the Wolfpack have a history of turning those dreams into nightmares on Thursday nights.  I think Boyd and Watkins will give the Tigers too much offense to get upset, but I think State stays inside the 2 TD mark.  I’m also betting with the OVER at 65.5pts.  I know I might be asking for a Clemson win with that, but I can’t lay off it.

FRIDAY

Boise State at #25 Fresno State -3.5 9pm ESPN (Fresno State 41 Boise State 40)

Not much to say on this one, but I’m rolling with the Broncos on the road.

SATURDAY

UNC at Georgia Tech -6.5 12pm ESPN

UNC vs. GT will be the star of the 12pm time slot and I think we will be in for a great game.  While it won’t be as crazy as last year’s 68-50 game, I think that these teams should matchup well.  Renner and the Heels have had a week off and they are my pick to pull the upset and get a win in Atlanta today.

MSU

#24 Michigan State at #21 Notre Dame -7.5 3:30pm NBC

Neither offense is going to find easy sledding in this game, and I expect a low scoring BIG10 style battle.  I think the Spartan D will give Rees and the Irish more problems than the Irish D give the MSU offense and that will be the difference.  Expect a deciding late score and maybe a heart attack today in South Bend.

Tennessee at #18 Florida -14.5 3:30pm CBS

Do I smell an upset today in The Swamp?  Not at all, but I think that Tennessee can stay inside the 2 TD mark vs. the Gators.  The Gators haven’t shown me that they can score vs. a BCS team, and the Florida offense took soon lumps from Miami that should still be in play today.  The Volunteers are coming off a beatdown from Oregon so they welcome this game.  Florida by a TD.

#23 Arizona State at #5 Stanford -6 7pm FOX

The Sun Devils needed help from the PAC12 refs to get out of Tempe ranked, and they will need the same kind of help to get away from my BCS Title pick Stanford.  I look for the Cardinals to bang them around with their pro-style game plan and for this game to be over before the 4th starts.

lsu_9

Auburn at #7 LSU -17 7:45pm ESPN

The LSU Tigers are looking like a legitimate BCS title contender and the Auburn Tigers are starting to look like a SEC team again.  This game will be a solid SEC battle.  I love LSU to win this matchup, but I have trouble with any SEC game hitting a 17 point spread.  The Tigers stay with the Tigers for most of the game, but the Tigers will pull away from the Tigers late.

Put your 2 cents in

